Thoughts on creativity.

Good article here which I found via the marmalade cafe on coping with a creativity drought.
The Creativity Drought – http://www.laurenhenkinblog.com/2011/05/the-creativity-drought/

Not that I am in one at the moment, I am not but I am trying to decide is what I want to photograph for my next assignment in People and Place, the assignment title is a sense of place.
I was in Greenland recently and I have always loved travel photography and traveling with a camera so one possibility is to use some of the photos from this trip. The reasons for my hesitation are:
That I found taking the pictures relatively easy. I want push myself with each assignment, to stretch myself so I am not sure if I should use them because of this.
Also I want to think about what I am saying with the set. I want to say more than “here are my holiday photos” I was struck by how different life was there, it occurred to me that while I am carrying on as normal living my life the way I do all these other things are carrying on, these people live so differently to us.
On the other hand being a photographer is not just about using a camera. There is also the post processing, selection and editing and putting them together to make a narrative. All of which I probably do with practicing too.
One of the things I have taken from this article above is the need for down time, for time out for reflection. I almost always always carry a camera with me every where I go. Sometimes I think it’s because I will miss a moment. Nothing wrong with that per se however I am beginning to feel like it’s putting me under pressure, or rather I’m putting me under pressure.

This passage in particular is interesting:
“I realized that when we hit these periods of stagnation, that it may be our mind’s way of reaching some kind of plateau, and that in order to continue rising, we have to grow as individuals before expecting to grow as photographers. It’s a hard thing to admit, but by being open to the possibility, I believe I could encourage some very creative thought.”
I am a photographer but also I am more than just that, I am so in the habit of looking at the world like I was looking through a camera that I cannot walk down the street and internally commenting on the quality of the light, thinking about the composition of the picture in front of me etc that I’m missing out on participating in life.

“Anyway I think one of the things that attracts people to a life of photography is the self determining, non-conformist, outsider, Steppenwolf, aspect of it”.

Above is a quote from Clive, one of the tutors who regularly participates in the forums on the OCA. It sums up how I feel sometimes, that the camera can be a shield between you and the world. Sometimes this is useful, to stand aside and observe but sometimes it leads to remoteness and isolation.

About briancooney123

HOW I GOT HERE Of course, I wasn’t always a full time photographer. I spent a lot of time in the corporate world. I had a job which paid well, but just didn’t excite me. I remember the day when I had had enough. Enough of selling myself short, enough of dreaming too small, enough of doing what others expected of me. I had put away my dreams and told myself I would get back to them later, but somehow there always seemed to be something else that had to get done first. A friend of mine had recommended I take the NLP Business Practitioners course, and although I was really busy, I decided to do it. During that time, I began to imagine the different paths my life could take from here. While I had a hazy picture of what this other life might look like, I had a clear picture of where my current life was going if I didn’t change. It was a scary moment, a bit like standing on the edge of a cliff deciding whether to jump into the great unknown or stay on the cliff, safe but trapped. I jumped. The transition to the life I wanted was challenging The transition to the life I wanted was challenging but I would never go back. After that day I resolved to do what I love, to follow my bliss.  Picking up a camera after several years away, I found that many things had changed, the digital age had arrived. In the intervening years, I was too busy to pay any attention to my photography, and occasionally when I took something I really liked, I would think “how do some photographs seem so captivating and others leave me completely cold?” I knew this is what I was meant to do Somehow though, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I dedicated myself to learning everything I could about being a photographer. I took many, many courses and I read every book I could get my hands on, I still do. Since then, I have dedicated myself to helping other creative photographers achieve the results they want. And what a journey it has been. Last year I qualified as a coach. My main area of interest is creativity and helping others to express their vision. WHAT I BELIEVE Along the way, I’ve learnt that there are no rules. Experiment, explore, play. My advice is to make your art from your heart, not for the praise or the money.  Lighten up. It’s important to take your photography seriously, but it's a mistake to take yourself too seriously. Finally, you get what you want when you never, ever give up so enjoy every minute of it and just do it!
This entry was posted in photo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

