Exercise 11. Raw.

The purpose of this exercise is yo look at the difference between the image quality of Raw and Jpeg files.  The first 2 pictures presented here are screen shots of what is a HDR image as can be seen by the histograms on the right hand side of the screen shot.  There are two images one DNG and one Jpeg.

Looking at the histogram I can see that this is a high dynamic range image.  It’s a little underexposed but not too bad and I can see that the shadows are a tiny bit clipped on the left.

This second image is a jpeg image and it surprise me to see that although the exposure setting is the same i.e ISO 500, f 16.0 and 1/250 second, the clipping of the shadows is much worse.  Both of these images are unprocessed.  The processed versions are below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was a little surprised to see that the shadows on the Jpeg version are very noisy after adjustment.  Also the difference between the 2 files to start with meant that the same latitude is not there to adjust the jpeg version as with the Raw version.

The next 2 images are taken under artificial light.  I guess it is more correct to say it is mixed lighting, artificial and natural light.

This first image is a DNG image.

The second image here is a Jpeg image.  The histogram shows these images to be of medium contrast.  Again its surprising to see that the colour in the two images are different.  The Jpeg image is cooler I think, especially around the shop dummy on the left, its more green.

The next two images are taken in natural light and are medium contrast.  I can see little or no difference between the two.  Even the noise levels are similar, there being a little noise in the shadow.

 

This is the DNG version.

 

This is the Jpeg version and there is little or any difference between the two.

 

 

About briancooney123

HOW I GOT HERE Of course, I wasn’t always a full time photographer. I spent a lot of time in the corporate world. I had a job which paid well, but just didn’t excite me. I remember the day when I had had enough. Enough of selling myself short, enough of dreaming too small, enough of doing what others expected of me. I had put away my dreams and told myself I would get back to them later, but somehow there always seemed to be something else that had to get done first. A friend of mine had recommended I take the NLP Business Practitioners course, and although I was really busy, I decided to do it. During that time, I began to imagine the different paths my life could take from here. While I had a hazy picture of what this other life might look like, I had a clear picture of where my current life was going if I didn’t change. It was a scary moment, a bit like standing on the edge of a cliff deciding whether to jump into the great unknown or stay on the cliff, safe but trapped. I jumped. The transition to the life I wanted was challenging The transition to the life I wanted was challenging but I would never go back. After that day I resolved to do what I love, to follow my bliss.  Picking up a camera after several years away, I found that many things had changed, the digital age had arrived. In the intervening years, I was too busy to pay any attention to my photography, and occasionally when I took something I really liked, I would think “how do some photographs seem so captivating and others leave me completely cold?” I knew this is what I was meant to do Somehow though, I knew this is what I was meant to do. I dedicated myself to learning everything I could about being a photographer. I took many, many courses and I read every book I could get my hands on, I still do. Since then, I have dedicated myself to helping other creative photographers achieve the results they want. And what a journey it has been. Last year I qualified as a coach. My main area of interest is creativity and helping others to express their vision. WHAT I BELIEVE Along the way, I’ve learnt that there are no rules. Experiment, explore, play. My advice is to make your art from your heart, not for the praise or the money.  Lighten up. It’s important to take your photography seriously, but it's a mistake to take yourself too seriously. Finally, you get what you want when you never, ever give up so enjoy every minute of it and just do it!
This entry was posted in photo. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exercise 11. Raw.

  1. bhellabhello says:

    still couldn’t find any differences T-T

Leave a Reply

